What are reference tools?
Reference sources are authoritative works that you can refer to for specific answers or information. There are many types of reference sources, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, directories, and almanacs. But in broader terms, reference works can also include materials such as bibliographies, handbooks, atlases, gazetteers, style manuals, or statistical sources.
Source: University of Chicago Library
The Bothell Campus Library has reference materials both online and in print. Print reference sources can be found on the first floor of the library.
Subject specific reference tools
- Anatomy & Physiology
- Anthropology
- Art
- Biology
- Business
- Chemistry
- Community Psychology
- Creative Writing
- Dance and Theatre
- Economics
- Environment
- Environmental Technologies and Sustainable Practices
- Ethnic and Multicultural Studies
- Gay and Lesbian Studies
- Geography
- Global History
- Global Studies
- Health and Medicine
- Human Nutrition
- Human Rights
- Law
- Literature
- Mathematics
- Media & Communication Studies
- Music
- Nursing
- Philosophy & Ethics (E-Reference)
- Philosophy & Ethics (Print)
- Physics
- Policy Studies and Political Science
- Psychology
- Religion (E-Reference)
- Religion (Print)
- Science, Technology & Society
- Sociology
- United States History (E-Reference)
- United States History (Print)
- Women's Studies
Find out more about a subject
- Gale Virtual Reference Library [UW restricted]Full-text encyclopedias on many different topics.
- Oxford Reference Online [UW restricted]Full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference works.
- AccessScience [UW restricted]Online encyclopedia of science & technology.
- CQ Researcher [UW restricted]Articles on current events and controversial issues, primarily with a focus on the United States.
Dictionaries and thesauri
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED) [UW restricted]Find spelling and origin information for thousands of words in the English language.
- Oxford Language Dictionaries Online [UW restricted]Bilingual dictionaries and study materials for Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Spanish.
- Oxford Thesaurus [UW restricted]Provides word synonyms with sample sentences and phrases.

Loading...
