New Student Checklist
New Student Checklist - Everything you need to know as a CCC student including activating your library account, connecting to restricted online resources from home, and accessing electronic course reserves.
Research and Writing Guides
- Citation Guides, Including APA & MLA Guidelines
- Distinguishing Scholarly Journals from other Periodicals
- Evaluating Sources
- Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory UW/CCC restricted
This index does not provide any fulltext or abstracts of articles. It is an index of periodical titles that are held internationally, and provides information about these titles - such as - are they peer reviewed. - More Research and Citation Guides
- Library Lingo A Glossary of Some of the Odd Words Used on this Page
Helpful Links
- Campus Library Home
- Library Hours
- Subject Guides
- Find Articles
- Browse E-Journals
- Course Reserves
- Ask Us!
Writing Guides
- APA Citation Guides
- Quoting and Paraphrasing - from University of Wisconsin.
- Guidelines for Preparing an Annotated Bibliography
- Research and Citation Guides
Getting Started with your Topic
The resources below and the tabs above will help you get started. The resources below tend to contain very broad overviews of topics, with links or references to other useful materials.
Does UW/CCC restricted mean Cascadia students can't use this database? No--it just means that you must use the off-campus access button in the upper right hand corner of this page to access them from off campus. More info on setting up your CCC UW NetID
Topics Collection
Located in the Information Commons, on the 1st floor of the Library, this collection contains books on topics that lend themselves to an argument of some kind. Many contain overviews of the issue, along with summaries of the key positions (and the individuals who promote or refute them). Two series that cover a broad range of subjects are "Opposing Viewpoints" and "Contemporary World Views."
This list is organized by the call number and publication year.
- Endangered oceans: opposing viewpoints. GC1018 .E528 2009
- Tobacco and smoking: opposing viewpoints. HV5760 .T62 2009
- Genetic engineering: opposing
viewpoints. 2009
- Vaccines. QW 805 V11622 2009 from the Current Controversies series.
- Child athletes. GV709.2 .C45 2008
- Global resources: opposing viewpoints. HC85 .G58 2008
- Alcohol: opposing viewpoints. HV5066 .A39 2008
- Food. TX360.U6 F62 2008 from the Current Controversies series.
- Performance enhancing drugs. QT 261 P438 2008 from the At Issue series
- Food safety. TX531 .S623 2008 from the Point/Counterpoint series.
- Dieting. WD 212 D565 2008 from the Issues that Concern You series.
- Food safety : a reference handbook. TX531 .R44 2007 from the Contemporary World Issues series.
- Eating Disorders: opposing viewpoints. WM 175 E14619 2007
- Food: opposing viewpoints. HD9000.5 .F545 2006
- Steroids. QT 261 S839 2006 from the At Issue series.
- Conserving the environment: opposing viewpoints. TD170.3 .C66 2006
- Threats to food safety. TX531 .P26 2006 from the Library in a Book series.
- Obesity: opposing viewpoints. WD 210 O23 2006
- Obesity. WD 212 K29o 2006 from the Health and Medical Issues Today series.
- Addiction: opposing viewpoints. HV5825 A647 2005
- Fast food. HD9005 .F37 2005 from the At Issue series.
- Food safety. TX531 .F5677 2005 from the At Issue series.
- Epidemics: opposing viewpoints. WC 503.7 E64 2005
- Genetically engineered foods. TP248.65.F66 G453 2004 from the At Issue series.
- Taking sides. Clashing views on controversial issues in food and nutrition. W1 T355 2004
- Health: opposing viewpoints. WB 130 H4342 2004
- Food-borne illnesses. WC 268 F68695 2004 from the At Issue series.
- Global resources: opposing viewpoints. HD75.6 .G56 2003
- An aging population: opposing viewpoints. HQ 1064.U5 A6353 2002
- Anorexia. WM 175 A6147 2001
- Agricultural crisis in America : a reference handbook. HD 1761 H56 1999
Reference & Instruction/Nursing Librarian |
Julie Planchon WolfUWB/CCC Campus Library
Office: LB1-210b
(425) 352-3452
Send Email
Subjects:
Nursing, Nutrition, Health
Questions?
If you have any other questions at any stage of the research process, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Nutrition Librarian Liaison:
Julie Planchon Wolf -
Reference and Instruction/Nursing Librarian
Ph: 425.352.3452, Office # LB1-210B, E-mail: jwolf@uwb.edu.
Also, other librarians are available to help you by calling 425.352.5340, or use our Ask us a question services.



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait